What is the Seven Sorrows of Mary? A Full Guide

by Hyacinth

The Seven Sorrows of Mary, also known as the Seven Dolors of Mary or the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, represent pivotal moments in the life of the Virgin Mary, mother of Jesus Christ. These sorrows are deeply embedded in Christian tradition, particularly within Catholicism, and serve as a profound meditation on the suffering and sacrifice intertwined with the redemptive narrative of Christ’s passion. From the Annunciation to the Crucifixion, each sorrow encapsulates a poignant aspect of Mary’s journey, inviting believers to contemplate her profound role in salvation history.

The Origin and Significance

The roots of devotion to the Seven Sorrows of Mary can be traced back to the early centuries of Christianity. However, it wasn’t until the Middle Ages that this devotion gained widespread popularity, particularly through the efforts of the Servite Order, founded by seven Florentine merchants in the 13th century. The Servites, also known as the Servants of Mary, were instrumental in spreading devotion to the Seven Sorrows as a means of fostering deeper spiritual contemplation and fostering a connection with the suffering of Christ.

The significance of the Seven Sorrows lies in their portrayal of Mary as the Mater Dolorosa, the Sorrowful Mother, who stood steadfastly at the foot of the cross, sharing in her Son’s redemptive sacrifice. Through her sorrows, Mary becomes a model of faith, obedience, and perseverance in the face of immense suffering. Moreover, the Seven Sorrows serve as a reminder of the profound intertwining of joy and sorrow in the Christian journey, mirroring the paradox of the Paschal mystery itself.

The Seven Sorrows: A Devotional Journey

1. The Prophecy of Simeon: The first sorrow, as recounted in the Gospel of Luke, occurs when Mary and Joseph present the infant Jesus in the temple, where the righteous and devout Simeon prophesies that a sword of sorrow will pierce Mary’s heart. This prophecy foreshadows the suffering Mary will endure throughout her Son’s life and ministry, emphasizing her role as the mother of the suffering servant.

2. The Flight into Egypt: The second sorrow unfolds as Mary, Joseph, and the infant Jesus flee to Egypt to escape the wrath of King Herod, who sought to kill the newborn Messiah. This sorrow highlights the hardships endured by the Holy Family as refugees, as well as Mary’s unwavering trust in God’s providence amid adversity.

3. The Loss of Jesus in the Temple: The third sorrow occurs when Mary and Joseph, returning from Jerusalem, realize that the twelve-year-old Jesus is missing. After three days of searching, they find Him in the temple, conversing with the teachers. This episode underscores the anguish of parental concern and the mysterious ways in which God’s plan unfolds, even in moments of uncertainty.

4. Mary Meets Jesus on the Way to Calvary: The fourth sorrow portrays the heart-wrenching encounter between Mary and Jesus as He carries the cross to Calvary. Amidst the crowd’s jeers and the soldiers’ brutality, Mary’s gaze meets her Son’s, conveying a depth of love and solidarity in the face of unimaginable suffering.

5. The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus: The fifth sorrow reaches its climax at the foot of the cross, where Mary stands in silent agony as she witnesses her Son’s crucifixion and death. Despite the overwhelming grief, Mary remains steadfast in her faith, united with Jesus in His redemptive sacrifice for humanity.

6. Mary Receives the Body of Jesus: The sixth sorrow unfolds as Mary cradles the lifeless body of Jesus after His crucifixion, her maternal embrace echoing the profound sorrow of a mother mourning her beloved child. In this moment of profound intimacy, Mary’s sorrow converges with her Son’s victory over sin and death.

7. The Burial of Jesus: The final sorrow occurs as Mary accompanies the lifeless body of Jesus to the tomb, where He is laid to rest. In the silence of grief, Mary anticipates the dawning of the resurrection, embodying hope amidst despair and pointing towards the fulfillment of God’s promise of redemption.

Reflection and Prayer

The devotion to the Seven Sorrows of Mary invites believers to enter into deeper contemplation of the mysteries of Christ’s passion and Mary’s role as the Mother of Sorrows. Through prayerful reflection on each sorrow, individuals are called to unite their own sufferings with those of Mary and Jesus, finding solace and strength in the midst of life’s trials.

Various prayers and devotions have emerged to accompany the Seven Sorrows, including the Rosary of the Seven Sorrows and the Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows, which offer structured formats for meditation and intercession. These devotions provide opportunities for believers to immerse themselves in the sorrowful mysteries of Mary’s life, drawing inspiration from her example of faithfulness and surrender to God’s will.

In embracing the Seven Sorrows of Mary, Christians are invited to embrace the fullness of the Christian journey, which encompasses both the joys and sorrows of life. Through Mary’s intercession, believers are empowered to confront adversity with courage and hope, trusting in the promise of redemption and eternal life secured through Christ’s sacrificial love.


The Seven Sorrows of Mary stand as a testament to the depth of love and sacrifice inherent in the Christian narrative. Through Mary’s sorrows, believers are invited to contemplate the profound mystery of Christ’s passion and the role of the Blessed Virgin in the unfolding of salvation history. In embracing the Seven Sorrows, individuals are called to unite their own sufferings with those of Mary and Jesus, finding strength and consolation in the midst of life’s trials. As we journey through the sorrows of life, may we be inspired by Mary’s example of faithfulness, perseverance, and unwavering trust in God’s providence.

Related Articles


Welcome to FreeDailyDevotional, where each day brings spiritual nourishment. Immerse yourself in uplifting devotionals, fostering connection and growth. Elevate your daily routine with moments of reflection and inspiration. Your journey to spiritual enrichment begins here.

Copyright  © 2023 freedailydevotional.com